Month: October 2013

  • Idolizing Chuck Norris

    This morning, as I brushed the coarse stubble on my face, I began idolizing Chuck Norris again. I like having the “Norris beard” so much, that though Liz despises the beard, I still want to have it. I am convinced that if the need arises where I need to light a match, I can strike the beard. Or if a squabble starts, and a dismantling round house kick is needed, I would be able! (believe it or not, this is going somewhere…)

    This past weekend we helped lead a youth trip to the beautiful Sipi falls (http://www.lonelyplanet.com/uganda/sights/waterfall/sipi-falls). The focus of the trip was to discuss idols. And coincidentally, one of my favorite authors, Kyle Idleman, had written a book on that very subject (Gods at War, Defeating the Idols that Battle for Your Heart). So I had a brilliant time reading and studying the subject prior to the trip. Partnered with biblical reference, I felt well equipped to discuss the subject with the kids.

    Kyle Idleman writes, “Idolatry isn’t just one of many sins; rather it’s the one great sin that all others come from. So if you start scratching at whatever struggle you’re dealing with, eventually you’ll find that underneath it is a false god. Until that god is dethroned, and the Lord God takes his rightful place, you will not have victory.”

    Earlier this spring, when I purchased the book, I did not realize the relevance that idols had in my life, and everyone’s for that matter. I was excited to read another of Kyle’s books, as his writing is always quite convicting. But as I finished the book on the bus trip (7 hours!), I realized how great this was as a subject to discuss with youth. I know that the ability to absorb information by teenagers is amazing. I also know that teenagers only want to absorb information as it relates to there current situation. And I think that this subject could not have more relevance. So my prayer is directly to them…Lord, expose the idols of their heart. Push the Holy Spirit into the place of those idols so that you may overwhelm them and grow in a relationship with them. Lord, please do the same for me. I am not strong enough to do it alone. Replace the substandard focus of our heart and strengthen us to focus TOTALLY on you.

    I have to say, the trip was amazing! There was miles of hiking in some of the most beautifully created landscapes on earth. Though there was mud, treachory, fear, and COLD, there was also FUN, FELLOWSHIP, SPIRITUAL GROWTH, AND SELF REFLECTION. I am thankful for the opportunity. I am also very proud of the kids who lead discussion times. Each of you were able to study and see the importance of this topic and through your own experience relate it to everyone else. Thank you guys!

    At the end of the trip, as we exited the bus and parents quickly came to retrieve their loved ones, I made a joke. I said, “Well, we are still alive. That is success if you set the bar really low!” And thinking about it, that bar was not too low. I genuinely was afraid at times. There were eight inch, mud trails, that were sloping down sometimes at greater than forty-five degrees. Where the drop off was immense and possibly life threatening. And yet, we all managed to pass and appreciate creation. All in all, I am grateful for our safety.

    As always, we were able to enjoy the situation regardless the circumstance. The Lord has blessed our group with a variety of personalities and interests. We had new-ish youth join us for the first retreat, and I would say they are hooked. Welcome to the group “Canadians!” We had twelve kids, all willing to participate in different ways, and all leaving with a new perspective on what idols may be trying to control your lives. So kids, if you are reading this (and it may be relevant to others), Idols are defeated not by being removed but by being replaced.

    Psalms 86:8 puts it this way, “Among the gods there is none like you, Lord; no deeds can compare with yours.”

    So at the end of the day, Chuck Norris lost. My beard is gone, and possibly so is the ability to have the perfect round house kick. And thinking about it, I can’t say that there is probably a place for that ability in the Kingdom of God anyway.

  • After thought of the summer

    I can honestly say that I spent over five hours publicly speaking about the ministry here in Uganda, while in the US. And if you know me in the least bit, you would know that I am not one to speak seriously in front of people. I am one hundred times more act out a comedy in front of a group, rather than be serious. So five hours, could have felt like an eternity. But thanks be to God for using my mouth for five hours. When I would have rather been making people laugh, I was being used by the Lord to give testimony to His work. (the funny thing is… if you were there for any of the presentations, you would have seen me try to reduce the time taken to meet the allowed amount because I could have talked for twenty hours!)
    Even though I had that opportunity to talk, I often found myself at a loss for words. It was so common to be in one on one conversation and with no regard talk about sports, the news, and even pathetically, the weather. When I could have been talking about why the Lord still wants us… How often I get to see Him… Why He wants us in Uganda. I am a bit angry with myself. I had so much opportunity to give glory to Him. But instead, I gave honor to Miguel Cabrera, the current hunting conditions, my lasting passion for Crispy Cream Bacon Cheeseburgers, and so many other pointless things!
    For some reason, in the land of plenty (aka the US), I decided to leave God (partly) at the terminal in Grand Rapids International Airport (GRR for those of us who speak that language). When people expected me to talk of His works, I was able. But when I had to muster up the mind/courage/excitement to talk about it, I couldn’t. I think I had spiritual Attention Deficit Disorder (sADD)!
    Ok kids… what do we call this? Idolatry! Weirdly enough, five years ago I would have never noticed such a thing. Idols are not just statues or people we look up to, they are culturally developed, personally developed, satanically developed ways of getting the focus off of Christ. Things that will never stop tempting us, and can only be subdued by the Holy Spirit.
    This isn’t just meant to be a confessional. I am not pretending to be in a booth and talk to some strange man through a mesh window at a catholic church (at least that is how Hollywood portrays it). I am just trying to point out that we need to return our focus to Jesus. It doesn’t have to take five years for you to recognize that Jesus is sitting next to you. He is listening to your conversations. He is watching what you watch on television. Don’t ignore Him, engage Him! He wants us to praise Him or there is no reason for us to be alive.
    Romans 12:2 says, “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” That is what my prayer is for myself, and everyone else. If we are going to invite Jesus as God in our heart, we have to stop paying attention to all the others. The challenge is for me and for many of us, and it is that we need to choose to follow Jesus; we cannot do that while our focus is on everything else.