Month: March 2013

  • Coming to America!

    A week ago yesterday, we had been violated by having someone break into our house.  They literally had spent as much time as they wanted as they had had time to munch on some snacks.  Just the thought of that would make someone uncomfortable.  But having it actually happen, made me a bit uneasy.  However, even as we realized it and stood there ALL TOGETHER we realized that it wasn’t that bad.  Satan is around us, in our house, in our car, trying to ravage our life everyday.  It just so happened we saw his cookie crumb trail that morning.  Quite honestly, from that experience, we have truly been blessed!  Beyond the tangible loss, we got to see the Lord’s provision.  This last week, we not only recovered our loss through donations and friends lending us things, we got to see Jesus!  There is really nothing better than hearing one of your kids say to you, “Wow!  Jesus has really blessed us this week!”  Only six days after having burglars come into our home!  That right there is seeing Light in the darkness.

    Really, that has been my problem for the past six months… I have not seen the Light in the darkness.  I have only been so scared/worried/name your reason here/stressed that I have not been able to even see the Light.  Yes, I went to church.  Yes, bible studies were great.  But application… do I rely on God?  Have I seen God even when people cheat/lie/steal/etc?  And I would say, “NO.”  All I saw was the sin.  I saw the darkness in people and wanted to run away, like Jonah!

    For those of you who are reading this, and helped in the nickname of Jonah, thanks.  For a while, I thought you were all biased and just wanted Lizzy and I (and a couple kids) to be here in Uganda longer.  For what was originally derived as selfish reasons in my head.  But now I realize that you see what I didn’t see, the Light in our darkness.

    A couple of weeks ago, friends of ours told us to make a list.  Make a list of things that God is using us for.  If the list of things that we are being used for here is longer then what it is in Michigan, then maybe that is an indicator of where we are supposed to be.  So Liz, the good girl that she is, made the list and it was a quarter mile long.  She was and is excited for what there is going on and for what the Lord could have in store for us!  Me, I just wanted to go back, and was hopeful that the Lord could use us there.  I wanted to get out of the ‘live on hand out’ scenario.  I wanted to get back to see and be with those who love us.  I didn’t even want to think about anything else.  We committed to two years!  We already extended that with hopes of accomplishing some things!  We did what we said we had come to do!

    Did we?

    I was reading this past week… I know, that sounded funny to me too!  But I really was reading.  And what I was reading about was the man who came to Jesus and said that he would follow Jesus whenever and wherever He was going.  That was a lot like how I felt two years ago!  I was on fire to serve Jesus, wherever and whenever He wanted.  Did I ever read the passage in the gospels about this over zealous servant before?  Probably, but the Holy Spirit decided that this past week was the time to apply it.  Jesus said to him, well paraphrased, ‘I am homeless.  There is no certainty.’  In fact, I am no Hebrew expert, but I am sure he probably said something also like, ‘its not just for two years, its for as long as you live.’  “What!?!  Jesus, did you mean me?”  That was my epiphany this week.

    The stupid thing about this is that Lizzy has known all along.  In fact, it is like the classic story of Megamind and Minion.  Megamind (me) gets distracted with Roxanne Ritchie (the idea of going home) and is actively screwing up the plan that had been laid out before them.  Minion (Lizzy) saw that distraction in the plan and tried her best to get me to see correctly… you gotta love when children’s movies have application!!!  Anyway, Lizzy has been incredible.  She has known what we NEED to do for months.  She has seen how the Lord can use us.  She isn’t afraid, she is excited!  Her fire that has been blazing while mine has been slowly burning out, has finally reignited mine!

    My single focus of getting back to where we were has distracted me to see where We can be.  (for the anal retentive folk, I intentionally used a capital ‘W’… me, liz, our kids + Jesus = We)  There are dozens of things that we are already connected with that our gifts can help with.  Things that our enthusiasm can rejuvenate.  Places where just our presence can encourage.  Now I know that people who want us home can say the same thing about there.  And if you ask me, then you see a place where you are needed to.  If you can see the need, then you can see the answer too.  Everyone that I know back home has the same opportunity that I would have.  All you have to do is step up.  If there is so much to be done, then I know churches full of people who can do it.  The same cannot be said for here.

    So my decision for my family, and for the sake of our walk of faith with Jesus, we will be coming back to Uganda at the end of the summer.

    There is a lot yet to be discussed logistically, but as I have seen this past week, if we focus on Jesus he will focus at us!

    So the biggest challenge for us is to get our blazing fire to ignite yours!  Even if you are 8,000 miles away!  Pray for us.  Encourage us, please.  We are very aware that time and distance challenge relationships.  So please be encouraged and have faith in our decision. 

    The down side to this decision… now we need more money.  The best scenario that I can see… we come home and talk to everyone about it.  To do that, we need to raise about $10,000 for round trip tickets for six.  Please pray about this also.

    All in all, be thankful that my focus is more on Jesus.  Be thankful that through obedience we are able to continue a ministry that is becoming very productive.  I welcome ANYONE to come and see as the Lord has blessed us to be his servants.

    Chad Neeley

    Volunteer Construction Coordinator – WWCS USA/Uganda

     

  • Consider it great joy…

    Yep, we had thieves running around in our house last night!  How great is that?  Makes you feel nice and safe, doesn’t it?  Thankfully though, everyone is safe and had really really good night’s sleep last night!  Considering the circumstances, we made out alright!  Yes they walked away with our dilapidated TV and our wonderful DVD player.  And they might have taken out new-ish deep fryer that was given to us two weeks ago.  Its also an issue that they stole the two gas cylinders that don’t actually belong to us, but from church.  But more importantly, they ate a bag of cheese curls (aka Gorillos) and a fun pack of Skittles!  Thankfully, they had the decency to put the empty bags in the rubbish bin (aka trash, translated from American English)!  Oh yeah, and they stole Isaac’s school bag, being the manlier one of the three, and remembered to leave the library book so we did not incur late fees!  Thanks robbers!

    ‘Consider it pure joy, my brothers, when ever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.’ (James 1:2-3 NIV)

    I can honestly say that this morning, after assessing the extent of the thieves, we were actually immediately peaceful.  We were blessed with the ‘pure joy’ as said in James.  We saw the obvious good in what had come from the bad, and that is that we were all safe!  Some may find discomfort, fear, or even panic in the situation.  But by the grace of God we were excited for what was NOT taken.  Thank you Jesus for keeping my family safe!

    I can remember a little over a year ago where I had the same epiphany.  It was around the time we were going to be building the clinic.  Our first car, Satan’s chariot, was giving us every headache that a vehicle could possible instigate.  That one vehicle was able to discourage me in the physical, mental, and spiritual realm.  I wanted the car to spontaneously explode!  I wanted every Ugandan mechanic in the country put in jail!  And I wanted to punch Satan in the face for lending us his mode of transportation!  But then I realized that we were about to do some really good work, and that was just the thing that would distract us enough and discourage the crap out of us.  And we persevered!

    Now, we are making GREAT headway in the project in Bugiri.  Lizzy is seeing remarkable opportunity with the girls in the youth group.  People are getting encouraged by our willingness to help in any way we possibly can.  And Satan does not like that!  He does not like the Kingdom work he sees us doing.  Though not everyone can see tangible good of the work, the Prince of Darkness sees the threat!  Praise God for his failure to succeed at this time!

     

    Change of topic…

     

    Its now mid-March.  Happy birthday Izzy (yesterday was her birthday, she turned 3).  And we now have to find provision to get us home.  We have been faithful servants and open to the direction of God.  And now we are faithfully looking for money to buy plane tickets for home.  Keep in mind, we have NOT made up our mind of whether we are coming back yet.  But we for sure need to get home this summer.  Two and a half years is too long to keep the family away from everyone who faithfully loves and supports us.  So please consider helping us out and helping fund the plane tickets home.

    I am prayerfully laying the decision out before the Lord.  It has and will be the main thought in my mind until it is final.  I am giving Jesus a deadline, if that is even something I can do.  By March 25, a week from today, I am going to make a decision.  Does God have us living back in the USA or back here in UG?  Please pray for us!

    Serving a gracious King,

    Chad Neeley

    Volunteer Construction Coordinator – WWCS USA/Uganda