Month: January 2013

  • Welcome back Muscles!

    First, let me say… thank you Muscles!  Now let me explain…

    It started a few months ago as we were preparing the project in Bugiri for the construction of a school and orphanage.  As always, I try and learn the names of the people I work with.  I think it is important to relate with the guys and better work with them.  To do so, I have to remember names by association.  Mostly because there are so many ‘muslim’ originating names that are very foreign to me.  If I cannot associate the name with something to help remember, I often give nick names.  Well ‘Muscles’ is a nick name.

    There was this guy who showed his character by working harder than any other person at the site.  Actually, I never really gave him an opportunity to tell me his name.  I immediately started calling him Muscles.  It is mostly because he is an average sized Ugandan (5 foot 7, maybe 150 pounds), but the strange thing about him is the implanted softballs he has on his arms and shoulders.  The man has worked HARD his entire life!  And his physique is evidence of his hard work.  He is definitely not someone I would want to arm wrestle!

    Still referring to some time ago, I had a big issue with theft at this site.  It was really breaking my spirit.  I was so angry that I even brought my anger home and took it out on the family, unintentionally.  It was a really rough patch for me, I admit that.  There were a half dozen tools stolen and deception getting brewed for the purpose of cheating us out of money.  Let me just tell you, it was REALLY REALLY hard!

    There was one situation where I had had four guys doing a task that had specialized, expensive tools that were required.  And on that day, I had left earlier than usual to return home to Kampala.  Well on my way home, not even 50 miles from site, I was called and told that one of the tools were ‘missing.’  Needless to say, I was furious!  But I reacted collectively and told my super to inform those four men that they are expelled from work, never to return (assuming there was no hope in changing their spirit).  Since then, Muscles and three other guys have been from the outside looking in…

    That was in September of last year.  Since then, every time I come to site, I would see Muscles.  And usually if I saw an adult man, it was because they wanted me to offer them work.  Which was the usual case.  But I refused to hire Muscles.  However, I did not refuse to shake his hand and smile (seeing English was not a language he speaks).  He would return the greeting with a smile and grudgingly stand around.

    Well yesterday, oh man was it awesome!  Muscles came to the site trying to help us out.  He saw that we were in need of a mallet to break big stones to fit underneath the slab.  Which coincidentally had gone missing earlier in the project.  He said nothing, but returned it and went to help locate some more material.  I had no idea, nor had I ever considered that tool ever coming back.  But I was happy to see it returned.  Then, when he returned from helping find the material, he went to his hut, and came out with the tool that had caused me so much grief.  The tool that really was hard to find, but easy to steal.  And Muscles, with every ounce of courage he had, returned it!  I know it seems stupid, but I have not been this happy, or proud of a man in a long time.  It seems like a long correlation, but I now see the lost son coming home. 

    I am pretty sure it was not the tool that I was so happy to see.  And my Ugandan friends could not believe my response in giving a ‘reward’ for the return.  But I was quick to explain that I have to reward honesty.  I have to encourage fruit of the spirit to grow!  And I am SO excited to have Muscles back!  He is a beacon of hope for me!  He did something that I had never thought possible and did exactly what Liz said to me, “restored faith back to me from humanity.”  Thanks Muscles!

    Chad Neeley

    Volunteer Construction Coordinator – WWCS USA/Uganda